Come back

1 min

02 Jun. 2022


Europe cancels free travel for Ukrainians: list of countries

Für Flüchtlinge


Europe cancels free travel for Ukrainians: list of countries

Help our volunteers who support Ukraine and all foreigners in the country 24/7

Since the start of the full-scale Russian war on February 24, all EU countries have opened their borders to Ukrainians, giving them free access to urban and international transport.

The rules were and remain quite simple: the right to free travel is provided by a Ukrainian passport (or any other document certifying Ukrainian citizenship) or a "zero" ticket, which can be obtained at the box office at the station.

In most countries, the right to free travel for Ukrainians remains.

❗️ However, some countries are canceling it from 1 June: Poland, Switzerland, Germany, Bulgaria and the Czech Republic. For Ukrainians, there will be discounted travel.

For example, Germany introduces a fare for all types of public transport in any city and regional trains for 9 euros. In the Czech Republic, a pass for all types of local public transport will cost almost 7 euros. 

As for Poland, we wrote in the article that after May 31, free travel on economy class railways will be canceled. Also, public transport in a number of cities becomes paid from June 1 - Warsaw, Krakow, Gdansk, Bydgoszcz, Gdynia, Lodz, Olsztyn, Czestochowa, Sopot. Free public transport in Wroclaw, Lublin, Poznan, Łomża, Elbląg, Toruń and Kielce has been extended until 30 June. In Szczecin you can travel around the city for free until the end of September 2022. In the city of Radom - in general until December 31, 2022. Rzeszow - travel is free only for Ukrainian children students of Polish schools.

It is worth remembering that the rules of travel for Ukrainians in public transport in the EU from June 1 may change in those countries that have not yet announced plans to abolish free travel.

Earlier, we reported on how Ukrainian refugees can leave Poland and whether they will be allowed back into Poland