About this tour
8:00 - Departure from Chernivtsi to Chortkiv town, Ternopil region. Please arrive 15 minutes earlier at - Central Square, 10 to ensure schedule met. Chortkiv town. Church of St. Stanislaus Dominican monastery. Wooden church of the Assumption (1583). Church of the Ascension (1630). Old Town Hall. Holsky family Castle (1610). Departure to Yazlovets village, Buchach district, Ternopil region. Castle. Armenian church. Moving along on our tour we will visit Rusyliv village, where we will visit the longest cascade of waterfalls in Ukraine - Rusyliv Falls.
15:00 - Transfer to the town of Buchach where we will take our lunch. This town has a 400-years-old Linden tree. Linden tea is a popular drink in Ukraine. Buchach is famous for its architecture, especially its defensive-fortification. Then we’ll walk to the village of Rukomysh, and examine the rock cave monastery of Saint Onufriy used since the first half of the 18th century. In most of the caverns are altars of St. Onuphriuy icons. You’ll see the great work of art - Pinsel sculpture of Saint Onuphriuy. You can collect spring drinking water for your refreshment. Further along the route is the village of Pidzamochok.
20:00 - Return to Chernivtsi.
5 reasons to choose tour
See the fortified and defensive architecture of Buchach
Visit a rock monastery with caves
Explore castle ruins
Find out secrets and legends of the castles of Ternopil region
Enjoy the beauty of waterfalls
The town’s name is thought to be associated with the malicious devil (Chernobog -Dark God), the other legend comes from the first settler Mr Chorni (Black), or Devil's Valley, which was a common name to describe the region on the emergence of the settlement. There is also another hypothesis about the origin of the name; Chartkovskoho Pole - a tycoon who owned the original land.
This village is famous primarily for its castle, since the 15th century. It is located on a hill, surrounded on three sides by the Olhovets river. In 1448 Theodore Buchatskiy built the castle yard and constructed the rectangular tower. In 1643, the castle became the property of Stanislaw Koniecpolski - the great crown hetman (General). Stanislav, with his son Alexander in 1747 made additions to the castle wings, which used the defensive walls of the fortress and turned the castle into a palace. Near the palace a large park was formed, and is preserved to this day. St. Nicholas Church - the oldest preserved building of the former city Yazlovets. Errected in 1551. It was formerly an Armenian church (Nikoghayos church). Today it serves as the parish church.
This is a natural monument of regional importance. Total length of Rusyliv stream is about 3 km, it has 15 waterfalls in height from 1.5 to 12 meters and a width of 10-15 meters, forming a large stage, a total length of which is about 1 km. The beauty of the waterfalls are complemented by the cherry-red and blue-green layers of rocks on the slopes of the canyon-valley stream, overgrown by shrub and herbaceous vegetation. You will also see hanging porous rocks (limestone tuffs) Where there are fossilized leaves and some animal bones, that reminds us of the past.
Here we see: • Buchach Castle - a monument of architecture of nationwide importance • Buchach Basilian Fathers Monastery of Exaltation of the Holy Cross, located on the Theodore mountain in Buchach. It was established on December 7, 1712 on the basis of documents by magnate Stephen-Alexander Pototsky, which was published in Lublin. • Buchach City Hall with statues by J. Pinsel (Galician sculptor mid-18th century, a representative of late baroque and rococo styles). It is a unique architectural monument of the mid-18th century.
You will browse castle ruins and its fortifications, which is an architectural monument of national importance, listed in the National register "Castles of Ternopil region". It was founded in 1600 and funded with the assistance of the Jan-Krzysztof Buchatsky-Tvorovsky or "John Zbozhny", the owner of Buchach town and surrounding villages, as evidenced by the preserved inscription above the main entrance gate. The town coats of arms are also the founders of this castle.
What is included?
*From each purchased tour, we transfer 10% to the Ukrainian Refugee Support Fund. All profits from press tours are transferred to the reconstruction of Ukraine.
The simultaneous stay of visitors in the hotel lobby not more than one person per 10 square meters of serviceable area is allowed.
Persons can visit hotels and stay there (outside hotel room) only if they wear respirator or face mask (including homemade mask), so that the nose and mouth are covered.
Hotel guests are obliged to keep the 1.5 meters distance.
Online check-in making in advance is recommended to avoid queues at check-in to hotel.
Meals in hotels are provided through meals delivery service to rooms upon prior order or at hotel restaurants situated inside or in open areas, provided the distance of at least 1.5 meters between seats at adjacent tables.
Not more than 4 clients are allowed to stay at the table (excluding children under 14 years old). Unless these tables are separated by a special partition;
Self-serve is not allowed.