About this tour

The center, the core of the Ternopil region, is one of the most interesting regions in western Ukraine, and one of the richest in castle ruins. We present to your attention the castles of Ternopil region.

The castles of Ternopil region are fortified settlements of the rulers that served as both a dwelling and a fortress; they appeared in the Middle Ages: none; background-position: initial; background-size: initial; background-repeat: initial; background-attachment: initial; background-origin: initial; background-clip: initial;">the Middle Ages to protect against enemy attacks.

Fascinating stories, brave battles, picturesque landscapes and mystical ruins, and this is just a small part of the castles of Ternopil region.

Tour program

8:00 - departure to the city of Chortkiv, Ternopil region. Excursion around the city. Church of the Assumption (1583). The old town hall. The castle. Church of the Ascension (1630).

Departure to the village of Yazlovets, Buchach district, Ternopil region. Inspection of the castle. The Armenian church.

15:00 - lunch. Transfer to the city of Buchach;

A 400-year-old linden tree is a botanical landmark. A fascinating tour of the city of Buchach, which is also famous for its architecture, in particular for its fortification and defense.

Next, we head to the village of Rukomysh, where we will visit the rocky monastery with caves and the Onufriyivskyy church.

Next on the route is the village of Pidzamochok. Inspection of the castle ruins.

17:30 - departure to Chernivtsi.

20:00 - return to Chernivtsi.

*The originality of the text is fully preserved from the author of the tour (tour operator)

The price does not include: entrance tickets, meals. The cost of entrance tickets: Yazlovets Castle - general - 10 UAH per person, children - 5 UAH per person. Prices are subject to change.

Note: the program includes either a visit to the Rusyliv waterfalls or the monastery in Rukomysh and the village of Pidzamochok (depending on the condition of the road to the waterfalls and weather conditions).

5 reasons to choose tour


See the fortified and defensive architecture of Buchach


Visit a rock monastery with caves


Explore castle ruins


Find out secrets and legends of the castles of Ternopil region


Enjoy the beauty of waterfalls

Key landmarks


Chortkiv town

The town’s name is thought to be associated with the malicious devil (Chernobog -Dark God), the other legend comes from the first settler Mr Chorni (Black), or Devil's Valley, which was a common name to describe the region on the emergence of the settlement. There is also another hypothesis about the origin of the name; Chartkovskoho Pole - a tycoon who owned the original land.


Yazlovets village

This village is famous primarily for its castle, since the 15th century. It is located on a hill, surrounded on three sides by the Olhovets river. In 1448 Theodore Buchatskiy built the castle yard and constructed the rectangular tower. In 1643, the castle became the property of Stanislaw Koniecpolski - the great crown hetman (General). Stanislav, with his son Alexander in 1747 made additions to the castle wings, which used the defensive walls of the fortress and turned the castle into a palace. Near the palace a large park was formed, and is preserved to this day. St. Nicholas Church - the oldest preserved building of the former city Yazlovets. Errected in 1551. It was formerly an Armenian church (Nikoghayos church). Today it serves as the parish church.


Rusyliv village

This is a natural monument of regional importance. Total length of Rusyliv stream is about 3 km, it has 15 waterfalls in height from 1.5 to 12 meters and a width of 10-15 meters, forming a large stage, a total length of which is about 1 km. The beauty of the waterfalls are complemented by the cherry-red and blue-green layers of rocks on the slopes of the canyon-valley stream, overgrown by shrub and herbaceous vegetation. You will also see hanging porous rocks (limestone tuffs) Where there are fossilized leaves and some animal bones, that reminds us of the past.



Here we see: • Buchach Castle - a monument of architecture of nationwide importance • Buchach Basilian Fathers Monastery of Exaltation of the Holy Cross, located on the Theodore mountain in Buchach. It was established on December 7, 1712 on the basis of documents by magnate Stephen-Alexander Pototsky, which was published in Lublin. • Buchach City Hall with statues by J. Pinsel (Galician sculptor mid-18th century, a representative of late baroque and rococo styles). It is a unique architectural monument of the mid-18th century.



You will browse castle ruins and its fortifications, which is an architectural monument of national importance, listed in the National register "Castles of Ternopil region". It was founded in 1600 and funded with the assistance of the Jan-Krzysztof Buchatsky-Tvorovsky or "John Zbozhny", the owner of Buchach town and surrounding villages, as evidenced by the preserved inscription above the main entrance gate. The town coats of arms are also the founders of this castle.

What is included?

Bus transfer

Bus transfer

Tour guide

Tour guide

*From each purchased tour, we transfer 10% to the Ukrainian Refugee Support Fund. All profits from press tours are transferred to the reconstruction of Ukraine.